For a great transportation resource, check out http://graduate.rice.edu/transportation/
Texas Driver's License Updates
Issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), the driver license or state I.D. card serves as most people's primary identification document. Changes in state law (2009) have caused Texas I.D.'s and driver licenses to be issued for a period of only one year at a time for foreign nationals. This means that foreign nationals will need to renew their licenses on an annual basis to continue to be legally allowed to drive in the US.
Foreign nationals may drive on their foreign driver license for a period of up to one year, provided they have an International Driver's Permit (IDP). The IDP is a document secured in one's home country of origin and serves only as a valid translation of a home country driver's license. It may not be used by itself, as the official home country driver's license must accompany it to be considered a valid driving document. Please check with your home country government office on how to obtain an IDP in your home country.
Please note that an IDP is not an International Driver's License - the internet has a lot of false information regarding an invalid document called an "International Driver's License". Please do not purchase one of these false documents, as it is not an acceptable legal document to drive in the US.
Applying for a Texas ID card:
For the I.D. Card, you will need to complete an application form; show your passport, visa stamp, I-94 card, and immigration status documents, proof of residency, and pay $16. You must have been a resident of Texas for at least 30 days to apply for a Texas ID Card or Driver License.
Applying for a Texas Driver License (TDL) - Valid for only one year
- Study the TEXAS DRIVERS HANDBOOK, published by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), as you will need to take a written exam.
- Provide proof of Identity
- Provide proof of valid immigration status valid for at least 6 more months.
- Provide proof of SSN or sign an affidavit affirming you are not currently eligible for an SSN
- Provide proof of Texas vehicle registration and proof of liability insurance for your car if you own one.
- Complete required forms available at any Texas Driver License office.
- Pay the required fee.
- Pass a vision exam – take your glasses or contact lenses if you need them to drive
- Pass a written exam – the exam consists of two parts, road rules and road signs. The passing score is 70% on these two sections.
- Pass a driving exam** – upon passing the written exam you will need to schedule a driving exam, probably for the next working day. You will need to provide the car for the driving test. If you do not own a car, you may consider using the Zipcar service available on-campus.
- For individuals between the ages of 18 to 24, you will also require proof of having taken an approved driver's education course (this new law went into effect on March 1, 2010). For approved courses, click here.
- Be prepared to stand in line for a long time - a two or three hour wait is not unusual.
- You must provide your own properly registered and insured car to drive for the exam, you may rent one if you have not bought one yet. When you go to the DPS office to take the skills test, The DPS officer who administers the test will inspect the vehicle before setting out on the road. A score of 70% is also required for passing. After the test, the officer will go over the results with you, explaining the errors you made. If you do not pass, you may take the skills test two more times within 90 days without having to pay the fee again. If you pass that test, a receipt will be issued. This will reflect your driver's license number and may be used for 60 days or until you receive your license in the mail.
- Contact the local office of the DPS if you do not receive the license within 60 days.
- Any time you move, notify the DPS of your change of address within 10 days.
- Obey all laws when driving. Do not take unnecessary risks. Be a polite and considerate driver.
- Alcohol and drugs, even prescription or over-the-counter drugs, and mixing medications, can affect your driving skills. Penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) are strictly enforced.
- Always carry your driver's license when driving.
So You Want to Buy a Car...
Getting around in Houston without a car is not easy; yet owning a car is not a simple matter. One can never seem to be free of worry when s/he has a car. Some problem, responsibility, detail presents itself daily: registration, insurance, inspections, license tag renewal, and maintenance, maintenance, maintenance! Still, most people cannot seem to resist the lure of owning this bright, shiny, powerful expression of who they are-or who they think they are-no matter how much trouble a car may be. Are you one of those who HAS to have a car? (Most of us are!) If so, you need to be aware of a few things before you even think of shopping for that Dream Machine.
Purchasing a new car is great-if you can afford it. International students seldom have established credit, and thus, must pay cash for their cars. This puts most, then, in the position of looking at used cars which usually do not require credit references and most of the time can be purchased with cash. However, if you are not careful, purchasing a used car may cost more in the long run. It pays to be informed when making any purchase. Especially in buying a car from a private seller, there are several things one must learn about to ensure that s/he is in compliance with the law and not being scammed. A former visiting scholar at Rice has provided the OISS with the following information:
- Get an overview on used car prices. Very helpful free sites are Edmund's Automobile Buyer's Guide and Kelley's Blue Book.
- Before making a test drive: Find out if you need liability insurance. In some cases, the current owner's insurance will cover any driver. Many times, however, if you want to drive on public streets, you will need your own liability policy first. If at all possible, have the car inspected by a mechanic before you make any commitment to buying it.
- Before buying the car: Get all the information on automobile insurance policies, including liability and comprehensive and collision costs for the vehicle model, make, and year. Get the vehicle identification number. Ask to see the Title ("Certificate of Title") of the car. All the information needed to inquire about insurance for this particular car will appear on the Title. (This will also prove that the person selling you the car is the owner). Important: Make sure that no liens are recorded on the Title. (If money is owed on the car, another name will appear in the space for "lienholder." In addition, the "clear" Title (no debts are held against the car) is blue, and the temporary Title (proof of sole ownership has not yet been issued) is red.
- Arrange with the insurance company you have chosen to begin the coverage, especially the liability insurance required by law, before you meet with the seller to finalize the transaction.
- When buying the car: Take the amount of money agreed upon and in the form agreed upon (cash, check, etc.) to the pre-arranged site of the sale. Complete the form titled "Bill of Sale and Invoice." Both buyer and seller must sign. It is preferrable to have the signatures notarized, but if there is no notary at the site of the sale, it is good idea to take someone with you who can witness the transaction. Complete the form "Application for Texas Certificate of Title." Be sure the instructions are printed on the back of the form. The seller signs on line 22; the buyer signs on line 23. The buyer and seller also sign on the indicated lines on the back of the Title.
- After buying the car: Take the Title, "Application for Texas Certificate of Title," and the "Bill of Sale and Invoice" to a Harris County Tax Office. You will pay a fee and the sales tax on the vehicle (approximately 6.25% of the sales price of the car) to transfer the Title to you, the new owner. The seller need not go to the Tax Office with you. You should receive your Title by mail within 4 to 6 weeks. For more information on how to register your car, click here.
Perhaps you don’t want to buy a car or use a bicycle but need a car occasionally for moving, shopping or going on a road trip.
Become a member of the Zipcar program on campus! Any international student or scholar who is 18 years of age or older with an international or U.S. driver license may sign up for this program for a $25 membership fee. Once you sign up, you can rent the car by the hour or by the day and not have to worry about gas or insurance since it is included in the rental price. You can reserve the car online and let yourself in with your Zipcard. If you need to use the car to take a driving test at DPS, you just have to notify Zipcar a week ahead of time so they can produce the insurance letter for the car (which you will need to provide when you get to DPS).
If you do not have a U.S. driver license, you will need to submit a driving record from your home country. Further information about this requirement is available on http://www.zipcar.com/apply/foreign-drivers .
Find out more about the Zipcar and sign up at http://www.zipcar.com/rice/